8 days in Venice soon for Art Cinema = Action + Management

I’m very pleased to tell you about some news – that I applied for and was successful in getting a (fully funded!) place on a unique training course called Art Cinema = Action + Management which is run by CICAE, the International Confederation of Art Cinemas. This will take place soon, from 31st August to 8th September. The course is the only international training programme for professionals working in the art house exhibition industry. The seminar is organised with the support of the Creative Europe’s MEDIA Programme and consists of around 20 trainers and 50 participants coming from all over the world, for an 8-day programme of lectures, workshops, case studies and screenings. CICAE is celebrating 60 years this year and you can find out about its interesting history here

The aims of the course are:

  • To communicate with the new generation of art house managers the specific knowledge (methods, tools, ideas and contacts) they need for programming, event organisation and management of an art house cinema.
  • Offer exhibitors a space where they can reflect on their practices, share their experiences and discover new opportunities in their industry
  • Provide insight into the tools of the trade and the challenges faced by the sector
  • Benefit from the skills of close to a hundred top-notch cinema professionals and trainers
  • Create a network of contacts and exchange experiences with one’s peers
  • Develop short and long-term projects

Art Cinema = Action + Management

I’m really excited to have this opportunity to take part in 8 days of intense training, surrounded by the atmosphere of so much going on, as the course timing coincides with the 72nd Mostra del Cinema (Venice International Film Festival). So I am very much looking forward to lots of learning and collaboration as well as networking and screenings at the film festival. Its going to be really interesting for me to meet other people from all over the world, running arthouse independent cinemas, just like me! It’ll also be a great chance for me to be back in Italy (where I lived for a year) and practice my Italian which I am fluent in but it tends to go a bit rusty when I don’t speak often. The course takes place on the island of San Servolo, close to the Lido in Venice. San Servolo used to be a monastery and now is used for conferences and so on.

CICAE

 

 

The other day I actually held a meeting at work in Italian which was great practice and a boost for my confidence to know that I can still do it! I’m very much looking forward to working with the wonderful Cinema Italia UK as a result of this. Cinema Italia UK screen films in London which would otherwise not have any release in the UK. Cinema Italia UK

 

Its going to be great to be back in Venice. I was last there for the Venice art Biennale in 2011! Hopefully I’ll write an update on how it all went when I’m back. Ciao for now!

2 Comments on “8 days in Venice soon for Art Cinema = Action + Management”

  1. […] 8 days in Venice soon for Art Cinema = Action + Management → […]

  2. […] – I organised a film screening of Hand Gestures including a Q&A with the film’s director, who I met on the course I did in Venice with CICAE in the summer  […]


Leave a Reply

