SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club – a successful launch to my new visual art & sound series

projected visuals for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

projected visuals for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

The launch of the new visual arts & sound series I am curating for Notting Hill Arts Club was a real success with a great night of art, sounds and music at the Club enjoyed by over 100 people!

Horseless Headmen play live for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

Horseless Headmen play live for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

Nicky Carvell‘s ‘Naff Graphic‘ Decals suit the industrial space of the Club perfectly and you can see them on display until the end of July.

work by Nicky Carvell for En Visage - SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

work by Nicky Carvell for En Visage – SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

IKTA performed an excellent  set with experimental layered sounds including pre recorded elements and live playing on saxophones, percussion and electronic beats. On the wall  behind the stage, short films by IKTA members Victoria Trinder, Simon West, Zachary Apo-Tsang  and Rosie Stewart fluttered in the background giving the performance area a more visually heightened atmosphere which worked well with the projections of Nicky Carvell’s specially designed En Visage logo.

Simon West and Victoria Trinder play an IKTA Live set for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

Simon West and Victoria Trinder play an IKTA Live set for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

 

the crowd enjoying SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

the crowd enjoying SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

 

Horseless Headmen then played their set with a range of instruments including the biggest saxophone I’ve ever seen, flute, bass guitar, guitar and a number of weird and wonderful percussive items including drums from Nick Cash. Finally, Half an Abortion – Pete Cann tested the limits of the Club’s sound system with his closing set.

En Visage logo by Nicky Carvell for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

En Visage logo by Nicky Carvell for SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club

 

 

 

 

 

Special thanks to all the artists involved, Neil the sound technician at the Club and Calum and Dom who I work with at the Club on the series.

More photos from the night can be seen on my Facebook page here and for more information about the artists, please see a previous blog post I wrote here.

I’m looking forward to SYNESTHESIA II which will happen in August with new visual artist, film makers, music and more!

One Comment on “SYNESTHESIA I at Notting Hill Arts Club – a successful launch to my new visual art & sound series”

  1. […] For me, in my own curatorial practice, I have always been fascinated by the alternative side of music, leading to sound art. So when I met Victoria and months later, when I became curator at Notting Hill Arts Club, I was thrilled to be able to invite IKTA to perform a live sound lab session at the launch of my multi arts series at the venue, which you can read about here. […]


Leave a Reply

