How I started 2013 in style – at the Chelsea Arts Club Hogmanay Ball

As it is the 1st February, 2013 I have decided at the end of a busy month to look back at how I spent the arrival of the 1st January 2013. On New Year’s Eve I went to the Hogmanay Ball at the Chelsea Arts Club where I am lucky enough to be a member this year, thanks to the fact that I’m the Chelsea Arts Club Trust/ CHELSEA space Research Fellow, which you can read more about here.

The Chelsea Arts Club was founded in 1891 and is a private club for artists for all genre. The balls are famous for their lavishly and eccentrically costumed dressed guests according to the particular theme of the ball. The Hogmanay was of no exception with guests adorned in tartan which had been manipulated in the most creative ways. There was a live band playing Scottish folk music and we all took part in the traditional Scottish Ceilidh dancing. We even had a bagpipe player on stage to bring in the midnight hour.

in my tartan outft which I made for the Hogmanay ball

in my tartan outfit which I made for the Hogmanay ball

 

 

tartan2

 

tartan 3

a close up of the home made tartan fascinator and the red eyeshadow I wore

Photography is understandably not permitted inside the Club but I took some photographs of my outfit before leaving to the ball. I made my costume myself and I tried to be imaginative in my use of tartan for the Hogmanay theme and created a punked up tartan image inspired by a Vivienne Westwood meets Helena Bonham Carter look. I made a sash out of spare material and a hair fascinator as well. I also wore red eye shadow to make the whole look a bit more punk!

2 Comments on “How I started 2013 in style – at the Chelsea Arts Club Hogmanay Ball”

  1. Stephen Ross says:

    great – time for some Brook Green items now! shabbat shalom dx

      Stephen Ross +44 (0)79494 30833 uk.linkedin.com/in/stephenaross

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

