a New York fashion find

A few months ago I visited New York for the first time. I knew that I was going to love it there, having been told so by friends I know who had already been. But also, since there is so much cultural influence I rate highly, that comes from there – art, architecture, design, fashion., food, film and so on which I admire. Some of my favourite discoveries were the thrift shops, better known as charity or vintage shops in the UK.

I was very lucky to come across this original 1970s  Jonathan Logan dress at the wonderful Cure Thrift Shop. The dress was just right on and I counted my lucky stars that no-one else had snapped it up.

1970s dress from Cure Thrift Shop, New York

The dress is brown, of course, being from the 1970s and it’s made from velvet & lace.  The Logan company was founded in 1944 by one David Schwartz. I found some interesting information about the Logan label here and was happy to be able to authenticate my New York fashion find.

I wore the dress recently in London, for the private view opening of the wonderful exhibition Lloyd Johnson: The Modern Outfitter at CHELSEA space gallery. The dress felt fitting for the occasion, as the exhibition addresses the career of the designer Johnson, a figure of great note on the London fashion scene including during the 1970s.

the Curious Curator at Lloyd Johnson: The Modern Outfitter, private view, CHELSEA space

2 Comments on “a New York fashion find”

  1. Lovely picture of you! Great dress. Seriously, is there anything you don’t know about!? You are like the most multi-talented person I know! Keep up the blogging xxxx


Leave a Reply

