Singing

I have always loved singing and was lucky to grow up in a household where music was important whether it was The Beatles, pieces of famous classical music or ‘world’ music from other cultures – something was always playing in the car or at home.

I am into a really wide range of music and I don’t understand when people seem bemused that I like opera, classical, reggae, dub, ska, klezmer, folk, 60s pop, grunge, retro close harmony a cappella and much more!

I was lucky to start singing lessons from the age of 6 through school and I haven’t stopped singing since then, in choirs at school, universities and then semi professionally in chamber choirs.

I have been classically trained in singing and completed the 8 grade examinations. Singing in a choir is brilliant – there are so many benefits! Working on a piece and getting it to performance level can be challenging and is very rewarding. Performing balances adrenaline and nerves and it’s a great feeling of pride when the audience shows their appreciation at the end! Singing in a choir involves many skills and also means that you are part of a team and are involved in a wonderful community of creative, talented people.

solo singing at a friend's wedding

Having sung in choirs throughout my schooling, entering solo and choral competitions including at the Eisteddfod as well as singing in choir tours in Spain and Italy, I have sung in University Chamber Choirs at Sussex and Leicester and Pisa. A memorable singing moment from that time was singing with many other Italian University choirs in a private part of the Vatican, inside St Peter’s Basilica, Rome.

I now sing in the English Chamber Choir which involves weekly rehearsals in the City and frequent performances at St Martin-in-the-Fields in Trafalgar Square as well as other London venues,. We make recordings of our work and have a wide repertoire ranging from classical crowd pleasers like Mozart’s Requiem to prog rock singing for Rick Wakeman! I get to sing in fantastic venues for all different kinds of events with a variety of creative people.

Hear and see  English Chamber Choir singing

I have sung solos including ‘The Mouse’ from Benjamin Britten’s ‘Rejoice in the Lamb’ at St James the Great in Leicester, ‘Tecum Principium’ from Handel’s Dixit Dominus at St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe in the City, London and most recently I have sung the Pie Jesu from Faure’s Requiem at St-Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square, London.

One Comment on “Singing”

  1. […] I really enjoyed hearing her describe how music influences her work. It can also be surprising to hear the genres of music that people listen too, it is rarely just one, which is similar in my case as I outlined in a previous post here. […]


Leave a Reply

